CALGARY KI SOCIETY

Special Events

Calgary Ki Society Bootcamp 2018!

Coming in the new year, this will be 7 action packed weeks of ki-aikido training with two special weekends with Calgary Ki Society Chief Instructor James Angevine and NWKF Chief Instructor Calvin Tabata Sensei.

See our full calendar of special events by clicking here.

December, 2018

Holiday Break
Wednesday, December 19 - Tuesday, January 1
All day
There will be no classes over the holiday break. Classes will resume Wednesday, Jan 2nd.

January, 2019

Misogi
Sunday, January 6
9:30 am - 3:00 pm
Please arrive by 9:00am. Misogi will start at 9:30am. New Years Training from 11:00am-1:00pm. Party to follow from 1:00-3:00pm.

No Class
Monday, January 21
All day
There will be no class in observance of MLK Day.

February, 2019

Instructors Workshop #1
Sunday, February 3
10:00 am - 4:30 pm
The workshop will focus on teaching skills for aikido instructors currently teaching a class, with feedback from Tabata sensei. Regular Sunday Ki class 11am-12pm.

Kiatsu Seminar #4
Friday, February 8 - Sunday, February 10
6:30 pm on Friday to 4:00 pm on Sunday
Kiatsu Seminar for First Year students (and dojo instructors) runs Friday evening 6:30-9:00pm and Saturday 9:00am - 4:30pm, Graduate Seminar is Sunday 9:00 - 4:00pm.

No Classes
Sunday, February 17 - Monday, February 18
All day
There will be no Sunday or Monday classes in observance of President's Day.

March, 2019

Children's Taigi Shinsakai
Saturday, March 9
All day
Children’s Shinsakai - Div A, 1 & 2 for children training at Corvallis, Eugene and Bend dojos.

Taigi Shinsakai
Saturday, March 16
All day
SW Dojo opens at 8:00am. Division A/1 to start at 9:30am. Children Divisions A/1&2, Teen/Adult Divisions 3&4, Instructor Demos. Members perform Taigis and Team ukemi exercises. Sign up and get details at your dojo.

No Class
Sunday, March 17
All day
There will be no regular Sunday class.

April, 2019

Spring Camp
Saturday, April 13 - Sunday, April 14
All day
One of two annual opportunities to train Aikido intensively, Spring camp is open to all current students.

No Class
Sunday, April 21
All day
There will be no class in observance of Easter.

Kiatsu Seminar #1
Friday, April 26 - Sunday, April 28
6:30 pm on Friday to 4:00 pm on Sunday
Kiatsu Seminar for First Year students (and dojo instructors) runs Friday evening 6:30-9:00pm and Saturday 9:00am - 4:30pm, Graduate Seminar is Sunday 9:00 - 4:00pm.

May, 2019

Instructors Workshop #2
Sunday, May 5
10:00 am - 4:30 pm
The workshop will focus on teaching skills for aikido instructors currently teaching a class, with feedback from Tabata sensei. Regular Sunday Ki class 11am-12pm.

No Class
Sunday, May 12
All day
There will be no Sunday class in observance of Mother's Day.

No Classes
Sunday, May 26 - Monday, May 27
All day
There will be no regular Sunday or Monday classes in observance of Memorial Day.

June, 2019

Children's Instructor Class
Friday, June 7
7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Open to instructors and assistants in the Children's' Program.

Kids Camp
Saturday, June 8 - Sunday, June 9
All day
The annual kids' camp is this weekend, featuring lots of training and activities for members of the children's program.

July, 2019

No Class
Thursday, July 4
All day
There will be no regular Thursday class in observance of Independence Day.

Chief Instructors Workshop
Friday, July 19 - Sunday, July 21
All day

August, 2019

Kiatsu Seminar #2
Friday, August 2 - Sunday, August 4
6:30 pm on Friday to 4:00 pm on Sunday
Kiatsu Seminar for First Year students (and dojo instructors) runs Friday evening 6:30-9:00pm and Saturday 9:00am - 4:30pm, Graduate Seminar is Sunday 9:00 - 4:00pm.

Instructors Workshop #3
Sunday, August 18
10:00 am - 4:30 pm
The workshop will focus on teaching skills for aikido instructors currently teaching a class, with feedback from Tabata Sensei. Regular Sunday Ki class 11am-12pm.

September, 2019

No Classes
Sunday, September 1 - Monday, September 2
All day
There will be no regular Sunday or Monday classes in observance of Labor Day.

October, 2019

Instructors Workshop #4
Sunday, October 20
10:00 am - 4:30 pm
The workshop will focus on teaching skills for aikido instructors currently teaching a class, with feedback from Tabata Sensei. Regular Sunday Ki class 11am-12pm.

November, 2019

Kiatsu Seminar #3
Friday, November 1 - Sunday, November 3
6:30 pm on Friday to 4:00 pm on Sunday
Kiatsu Seminar for First Year students (and dojo instructors) runs Friday evening 6:30-9:00pm and Saturday 9:00am - 4:30pm, Graduate Seminar is Sunday 9:00 - 4:00pm.

Kiatsu Graduate Seminar #3
Sunday, November 3
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Graduates of the Personal Kiatsu School are also welcome to attend the Saturday session of Kiatsu Seminar #3.

Fall Camp
Saturday, November 23 - Sunday, November 24
All day
One of two annual opportunities to train Aikido intensively, Fall camp is open to all current students.

No Class
Thursday, November 28
All day
There will be no regular Thursday class in observance of Thanksgiving.

December, 2019

No Class
Sunday, December 1
All day
There will be no regular Sunday class.

Management Conference
Sunday, December 8
9:00 am - 1:00 pm
All dojo officers and instructors are invited to attend. No classes Sunday Dec 8nd.

Holiday Break
Friday, December 20 - Wednesday, January 1
All day
There will be no classes over the holiday break. Classes will resume Thursday, Jan 2nd.